HomeLogo

Welcome to my website!


… this upstairs downstairs cozy should please Downton Abbey fans

Publishers Weekly


… A humor-laden blend of antiques, celebrity adulation, and old-style British cozy. Fans of Alan Bradley or G.M. Malliet would savor.

—Library Journal


…Dennison’s book is fast and funny and a little sexy to boot…

—Chicago Tribune



I’m excited to announce that the UK edition—same story, different cover—of “Murder at Honeychurch Hall” will be published on November 6.

Book-Available-Btn

Many of my readers have asked me if Honeychurch actually exists. Although Honeychurch Hall is based on two grand old houses in Devon, the hamlet of Honeychurch does—indeed—exist. A church was founded in the tenth century by a Saxon landowner called Huna who endowed it with the tithes of his estate.

Honeychurch was never a very big place—just around six hundred acres. The population of Honeychurch was around thirty in the eleventh century … and we’re told it’s around the same one thousand years later! In fact Honeychurch today has just the same five farms that were recorded in the Domesday Book.

This past summer my mother and I visited Honeychurch in West Devon. It was off the beaten track and even more remote than we realized. According to Parish records, Huna’s church was “completely rebuilt” in the 12th century and was “altered and improved in the late fifteenth century and hardly touched since.” It was amazing to find the three medieval bells still in their original cage; the rustic Elizabethan pulpit, a complete set of late medieval benches and on the wall in the nave, a crude painting showing the Royal Arms of Elizabeth I. Obviously, there is no electricity or heating and yet, happily, church services still take place every month. I took a few photographs that I’ve posted on Pinterest if you’re curious.

Other news:
For those of you who have already met Jazzbo Jenkins in “Murder at Honeychurch Hall” the true story behind this vintage collectible Jerry Mouse was revealed in the September edition of Teddy Bear & Friends. If you missed it, you can find it here. If you happen to unearth one of these rare little mousies and want to join the Jerry Mouse community … stop by the Merrythought Jerry Mouse Fan page.

And finally … still no firm date for poor Vicky Hill’s fifth adventure, Accused! But the moment it’s confirmed I will announce with a fanfare of trumpets. In the meantime, you can always follow Vicky’s daily adventures via her own Vicky Hill Facebook page.

Thank you for all for supporting my books. I love hearing from you so please keep those letters and emails coming! I reply to every one. And don’t forget to check the calendar … I just could be stopping by your local bookstore or library.

Until next time!

HDSignature


You can order Murder at Honeychurch Hall now by clicking on this link. If you’d like a sneak peak of Chapter One, click here.


facebookicontwittericonpinterest icon Updated 11.1.2014


BookCoverMHH-Transparency

Jazzbo_2


Hannah DennisonHannah Dennison